I’m Off

Yes, I’ve BEEN off. Sad about the death of my grandmother. Worried about my dad and father in law’s health. Torn apart over Hannah’s recent issues and separation anxiety.

But that’s not the kind of OFF I’m talking about.

No, I’m literally off. Off on vacation. Leaving today. For seven days. Packing up and relocating the family from our house here in the suburbs of NY to the beach. (And for all of you stalking me to see when I’m away so you can rob my house, I have a housesitter and a ferocious dog so don’t even think about it). Part of me is a bit concerned that I’m just moving the craziness from one house to another. But even if that’s the case, the change of scenery and the sound of the crashing waves will be welcomed.

I’m full of hope. Hope that this week together as a family will be perfect. Just what we need. All we imagine.

All I imagine.

– Early coffee on the beach, scent of salt water in our noses.
– Standing holding hands, frothy water covering our toes.
– Finding first stars in the sky and making a wish we hope will come true
– Short walks at dusk for icecream
– Finding moments to read. Or close my eyes.
– Evening cocktails. Virgin for them. Not for me.
– Quiet conversation about life and love with my guy.
– Doing cartwheels side by side with Hannah.
– Bringing home a bag full of sea glass. And sea shells.
– Taking long walks. On the boardwalk. Alone.
Playdates with new friends on the beach.
– First trips on a ferry boat to unexplored islands.
– Coming home. Refreshed. Happy. Excited for new schools. New adventures. And fall.

See you in a week!

xo

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “I’m Off

  1. Have a great time, Becca. We’ll be here when you get back.

  2. Enjoy your time off. I hope that it’s as refreshing as you need and deserve.

  3. Enjoy Becca! Nothing beats making memories by the sea…Safe travels and looking forward to hearing about your adventures…

  4. Hope it’s a great week, Becca. It’s always good to change locales for a bit, even if the crazy comes with you. It’s “good” crazy that way.

  5. Local Naragansett Weather Man

    I see nothing but blue skies ahead!!!!!

  6. You deserve all this and more. Enjoy, rest, regenerate!!

  7. I hope your vacation is wonderful!

  8. Have a wonderful vacation. Rest and enjoy!

  9. LZ

    I bet it’s exactly what you need…especially the playdates with new friends!
    I hope you’re enjoying yourself and recharging ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Despite the rainy weather you’ve been having on your vacation, I hope you’re having a good time with your family. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Enjoy! I’m on vacation too this week – those two days of rain were not awesome, but I’m hoping this sun sticks around! xo

  12. I’m back and see I have tons of catching up to do. I’ll be in NYC this weekend if you want to come to the Film Forum. I would so love to meet you. Can’t wait to read you past posts. I’ve missed you and hope all will start to sort itself out.

  13. Nicki

    Hope you are having a fantastic time, despite the weather. I have been off for a few weeks now but never left the house – at least not to go to a different area.

  14. Pingback: Back « Drama For Mama

Leave a Reply

