When she Grows Up

Luke is sick again.  My day that I had planned on having as My Day became a day caring for a feverish, clingy, cuddly little boy.  My plans for brainstorming a truly creative post for today’s Creative Boot Camp flew out the window as soon as his school called to tell me to come pick him up.

So, I asked Hannah to help me out.  The prompt for today was “Grow”. And what better way to talk about Grow than Growing Up and asking the five year old in the house?  The quotes below are truly quotes.  No editing.

Hannah, I’d like if you could help me out with a little project tonight for my blog.  Would you like that?

H: Will it be hard?

No.  Not at all.  I’ll ask you questions and you’ll just answer them, k?

H: Are there right answers?

Nope, no right or wrong answers.

H: Ok, mommy. But I’m sleepy so don’t ask me too many questions.

Hannah, What do you hope to look like when you grow up?

H: I’m hoping my hair will turn to blonde and my skin maybe will turn a little lighter.

Why lighter and blonder?

H: Because that’s my favorite kind of head.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

H: An artist.

What kind of artist?

H: An artist that knows how to draw everything. I mean I’m already really great at drawing and I already AM an artist but I want to be the kind of artist that is really good at EVERYTHING.

What do you dream of drawing?

H: A zoo perfectly. A tiger and an elephant especially.

Who would you most like to marry?

H: A person that looks exactly like daddy. And is exactly like daddy.

What’s daddy like?

H: Funny. Cute. Goes out to dinner.

Do you want to be a mommy when you grow up?

H: Of course I will.

What’s the best part of being a mommy?

H: Making up all of the rules by yourself.

What’s the hardest part of being a mommy?

H: When my child won’t listen to me.

What’s the worst part of being a mommy?

H: Getting a ticket on my car.

Do you think you’ll ever cry when you grow up?

H: Maybe.

When?

H: When something bad happens to me.  When I’m scared my kids will have a hard time in kindergarten or any school.

When you look at mommy all grown up… what do you think is the best part of being grown up?

H: Being able to drive.

Where would you like ot drive to?

H: Nanny and Grampy’s beach house.

What seems to be the worst part of being grown up.

H: Getting tickets.

Oh and another best part would be going to the circus and my kids are really happy.

What do you want your house to be like when you grow up?

H: Big. White. Red shutters. Clean.

What do you think Luke will be when he grows up?

H: Oh of course, a question about Luke.  A daddy.  A toy maker.

Where do you think you’ll live when you grow up?

H: New Jersey.

NEW JERSEY?  Why??

H: Oh, I’m just kidding.  Stamford… I want to live close to you.

What grade are you most excited to be in?

H: 12th grade.  It sounds exciting and I’d feel proud of myself that I almost finished all of my grades and that I learned so much and I’m proud of myself that I did all of my work and it was fun for me.

Will you play sports when you grow up?

H: When I’m a big big big kid I’ll play soccer, t-ball and gymnastics.

I wish I could be in the Olympics.

If you could be on any TV show what would it be?

H: ET of course.

How about a TV show?

H: A real person show or a cartoon show or a pretend show with real people?

Any of them.

H: Project Runway.

Why?

H: Because I think it would be fun to make clothes. I’d make a beautiful dress that is pink and red.  Bright pink.  And I want to see Michael Kors, Tim and Heidi.

Do you want to have kids when you grow up?

H: Yeeeessss.

How many?

H: Three

Two girls and one boy. Boy youngest and then two girls older.

And there names are Isabella and Gabriella who are twins and have a bunk bed and Jason.

Anything else you’d like to tell me about when you grow up?

H: I’d love to go to another country and see the Eiffel Tower.

Where do you think Ellie (your stuffed elephant) will be when you grow up?

H: Really old and probably somewhere in my house.  Either in a box somewhere or I’ll put her somewhere special.

H: Are we done because this is getting exhausting.  And it’s hard for my brain.

Yes Hannah, we’re done.  Thank you for helping me.

H: You’re welcome for doing all of your work for you.

I hope to hold onto this and read it to her when she is all grown up.  And an artist. And married to someone as wonderful as her daddy. If she has time to listen to it between all of the tickets she’ll apparently be getting and her three kids she’ll be caring for.  At least she’ll have a clean house… one step ahead of me already.

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

25 responses to “When she Grows Up

  1. Do you have some explaining to do about those tickets, Becca?? 🙂
    This was such a cute idea – loved glimpsing in to some of your mother daughter conversation! (and that she knows it’s not just Michael, but Michael Kors 😉 )

    • Ahem. Um… yes, I got two parking tickets in the span of a week WITH Hannah and started to cry right there and then when I got the second one. And, I got pulled over for running a red light with H as well. But I got out of that one. OK, confession over. 🙂

  2. How old is she again?? She is hysterical and wise, and completely precious.

    Hope your little guy is feeling better!

  3. So cute, Becca!
    Hannah sounds all grown up already!
    Xo

  4. Wow! My almost 5 yo goes back and forth on the mommy thing, but she’s already got her husband picked out. Apparently her whole class chose. One girl told her mom all about it – I picked M because he’s smart like me, and we’ll get maried when we’re 27. Which is better then the plan here. 10 is just too young! 🙂

  5. funny and sweet…and I wish I’d thought of this.

  6. What a great way to interpret grow and how much fun did I have reading!!

  7. Wow, how wonderful and awesome and amazing! She’s only five?! She’s very bright and gave such thoughtful answers. Now I want to ask my daughter these questions! This will be a great thing to show her when she’s older. Fabulous idea, Becca!

  8. I love that she’s five and already has thoughts about kids’ names and where they’ll sleep!

    You guys must be doing something (a lot of things) right (and wonderfully so) if your little girl envisions her life exactly like the one you have now. 🙂

  9. This is lovely. I wish I had something like it to read back to my Little Miss. I just wrote about my daughter’s vision of her future here: http://www.sweetspot.ca/SweetMama/guest_blogger/19275/starbucks_should_be_licensed/. But I’m wondering about the tickets…and is she back to gymnastics?

    Christie

  10. Eva

    Ahh, this is great! I love that you and your daughter did this assignment together – what better way to describe growing. And such fascinating insights. I think every parent should have this type of interview with their kids – maybe once a year to see how things change.

    My favorite? Her house. “Big. White. Red shutters. Clean.” Sounds just perfect.

  11. I love this! It is neat that she has a plan already…A daddy that likes to go out to eat…

    She is wise beyond her years! And if she can ever figure out (before she gets too much older) how to keep a house clean with three kids, have her drop me a line, ok?

  12. This made me go awww, giggle, get teary-eyed and smile all at the same time. I love that you did this post.

  13. Maria

    Very cute! I’ve “interviewed” both my kids and I plan to do it annually on their birthdays. Love what they come up with.

  14. This was so much fun to read! As a part of my work (my life’s misson, really!) I often speak with groups of children, and my favorite part is the Q&A. There has never been a time when I didn’t field at least one unexpected question or comment. 🙂

  15. This warmed my heart so much. I can’t wait to have a conversation like this with my own daughter. Thank you for this post.

  16. Liz

    Okay, Becca, I’m not sure if Ben and Hannah can marry anymore. I fear my “smart” boy will live feeling inferior to your “brilliant” daughter. Damn, girl. And I thought MINE was expressive!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Loved it.

  17. HAHAH!! Tickets! HAHAHA! Oh, your Hannah is a hoot!

    She has her future all planned out, it seems. As long as those tickets remain far, far away.

    I hope your Luke is feeling better.

  18. ck

    What an awesome post. I bet she’ll treasure it someday.

    My daughter also looks forward to making up all the rules. I tell her I look forward to turing the reigns over to her. How great will it be to no longer delegate such things?

  19. That is a gem!!! How sweet…sounds like she has a pretty good grip on adulthood already!

  20. This is so fun. I especially enjoy that she is planning to play T-ball in the olympics. That’s good stuff. And that your five year old watches Project Runway. If my daugher doesn’t love Heidi and Tim and Michael Kors I’m giving her back….

  21. Hysterical. The specifics! (Now about that Eiffel Tower trip. . . think she’s taking the 3 kids along?)

    Truly. This is a treasure.

  22. I just love the way the child mind works. Some of it is so off-base (if the worst part of adulthood were tickets, I’d be golden). And some of it is so on-point (that she realizes, even now, that Ellie won’t be a part of her daily life at some point is astonishingly self-aware). Amazing how we learn and grown and incorporate the world into our current understanding of things.

  23. I bet Ellie would love to go to the Eiffel Tower, too. Or maybe Jersey?? =>

  24. She’s such a smart little cookie. I don’t know that my 9 year old would answer so succinctly!

Leave a Reply

