This Mom thing

I don’t shower every day (not even close).

But I still get 4 arms thrown around me and bodies piled on top of me hundreds of times a day.

Getting dressed up these days is anything besides wearing my pajamas.

But I’m still told I’m beautiful and “stylish” every day.

My house is normally a wreck and quite possibly a danger zone.

But you’ll always have fun and feel comfortable stopping by.

I don’t see the inside of the mall or enter my favorite stores very often.

But I am so much better at noticing the small joys outside, like balloons in the sky and airplanes overhead, then I ever thought I’d be.

I moan and groan every morning when my body is enveloped by a small person greeting me with a hug in the wee hours.

But I never feel like I’ve wasted a morning away by sleeping.

I don’t get to enjoy belly laughs with my friends as often as I used to.

But I HEAR belly laughs almost every day from I joke I told that wasn’t even funny.

I don’t have many romantic nights of lying on my couch kissing my husband.

But butterfly kisses on my cheeks from tiny eyelashes are so much better anyway.

I rarely remember to put on liploss to make my smile prettier.

But I always remember crayons in my bag so that I can draw a perfect smiley face on a napkin.

I used to spend too much money on manicures and pedicures.

Now I have my own personal 5 year old cosmetologist.

I so clearly remember the days when my parents would embarrass me in front of friends.

Now, the stories of my kids embarrassing me are so much more fun to tell my friends.

When I was little, it was all about the presents.

But today, it’s all about Being Present.

I used to take being alone for granted.

Now I skip out the door to go to the grocery store alone.

I used to feel like my profession held little “meaning.”

Now, my world is defined by what I do every day.

I don’t get reviews, promotions or raises anymore.

But “Thank you mommy” and “You’re my best friend mommy” are more rewarding anyway.

I was NOT that girl who grew up dreaming of being a mommy.

But now, with those two small people to call my own, I wouldn’t dream of it Any Other Way.

Thank you Loulou’s Views for the excuse to write what it means for me to be a mom.

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “This Mom thing

  1. I love this. Thank you.

  2. I love this post so, so much. It makes me want to be a better mom, and to really enjoy the small things, even more, and to take it all in! Thank you so much for your entry!

  3. Such a different life than the one we had before. But, so rewarding.

  4. LZ

    Well said! It really is the little things that could make you happier than anything you’d ever imagined, pre-kids, isn’t it?

  5. Is your cosmetologist taking on new clients?? =>

    Also, I love the part about getting presents vs. Being Present. So true, and what an important shift it is that we make when we become adults, partners, and mothers.

  6. Squeeee five-year-old cosmetologist! My friends and I used to joke about going to Flamingo Beauty School instead of prepping for SATs (glad that’s long in the past!). Why enroll when such talents are at our disposal? 😉

  7. I love your reflections on the meaning of motherhood to you. On my good days, I share many of them. When I’m struggling, I find it harder to see the fleeting beauty in the early wake-up calls and the bear hugs. I need reminders like this – thanks, Becca!

  8. Becca, thank you for this post…

    I have had a pretty difficult day today, and I SO needed to read this…

    We all need reminding sometimes of how fleeting this time is with out children, before they get too big, before they forget how much we love them…

    Beautiful post…as always!

  9. This is so great. I love it. We do appreciate so many of the little things when we become mothers. We see things we didn’t see before. We see more clearly, even though there’s more dirt and dust.

  10. This is lovely, and exactly what I needed this moment.

    Thank you!

  11. LOVE it! That was so beautiful and sweet. Thank you for such a lovely post.

  12. This is so sweet. I loved reading this tonight right before Mother’s Day.

    I’m so glad you appreciate your blessings.

    I’m so glad you see how divine it is not to shower every day and to get butterfly kisses and wear your pajamas for an entire day.

    Enjoy.

  13. Happy Mother’s Day! From one crayon-toting, lipgloss-free mom to another! 🙂

  14. Sorry I’m getting to this post so late. Just wanted to echo the other comments here and tell you that it is a lovely representation of all the reasons motherhood is so divine. Uplifting to read on many levels.

  15. Beautiful. You just took me out of my grumpy mood. Thank you!

  16. Your first line made me laugh. Neither do I. Even worse, I used to pretend (read: lie) to my friends that I washed my hair everyday. It wasn’t until I found my new soul-mate (Paul, my hair-stylist) who told me it was actually better for a woman to only wash her hair every three days! I do better than this, and I do shower often (if not everyday), so I guess I’m good 🙂

  17. When you put it that way…wow! Loved this, and how fun for me to read on Mother’s Day.

    I hope this day is good to you! You deserve it, your children are as lucky to have you as you say here that you are to have them.

    P.S. I often think about how much I used to take alone time for granted. If we had only known!

  18. I love this. And the thing is… it just continues. Ain’t that grand?

    Happy Mother’s Day!

  19. Beautiful. I also didn’t picture myself as a full time mommy, but now that I am, I can’t imagine life any other way.

Leave a Reply

