You’re not nearly as sick of hearing about my being sick as I am about talking about being sick.

I crave happy giggles,

singing songs , skipping through

the house and sidewalks, holding little hands,

pointing at balloons and airplanes overhead.

I miss healthy glows, morning cuddles, full tummies

from hot oatmeal and toasted bagels, full nights of sleep

and feeling rested, trips to the museum, to the park, to the store,

hot cleansing baths instead of cooling ones.

I crave normalcy, routine, down time, time OUT.

I miss the playful me, the patient me, the me my family expects.

I miss my family.  I miss the life I love.

Three weeks of pneumonia, flu, strep, ear infections, viruses, fevers

and overall malaise is making me a mommy I don’t want to be.

I don’t recognize this screamy, impatient, sad, angry, forgetful mommy.

I miss me.  And so does my family.

So if anyone can place a call to someone, somewhere and ask them

to send this sickness somewhere else, I would really love you.

And bake you some delicious cupcakes.

28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “You’re not nearly as sick of hearing about my being sick as I am about talking about being sick.

  1. crnnoel

    Oh Becca…
    You’ll be back, hopefully soon. Very very soon.
    Thinking of you.

  2. Pneumonia? OMG, I hope you are finding some way to be able to rest.

  3. Nicki

    Oh, Becca! Wish I truly were closer. I would send #3 into the house and you could escape. Except, she has been subbing again and is now sick. Told her to get that flu shot in October. 🙂

    • The flu shot… right. I kept wanting to get it but kept getting sick before I got around to it. I wish you lived closer too… I could use a running buddy!

  4. Oh my goodness, you’ve been through quite an ordeal! I hope you get better soon. (Stopping by from SITS, btw.)

  5. Pneumonia? Geez! You are down for the count, girl! Hope you feel better soon!

  6. You poor thing! I feel for you, I truly do! Hope you start feeling your rested, routine driven, playful, patient, happy self real soon!

  7. Liz

    Uh, hello? Remember me and my plague? It wasn’t quite as serious (no pneumonia, anyway) but lasted for like 13 weeks? Yeah, I can relate. I missed me, my kids, my life, normalcy. It BECAME normal…thermometers, medicine, doctor visits. I SOOOOOOOOOO feel your pain. Hang in there! =( And I loooooove cupcakes!

  8. Feel better! Ugh. After a terrible, terrible season of constant sickness around here, I really feel for you. My favorite little bit here?

    “I miss me.” – Isn’t it amazing that sickness, complexity and life can make it so that we are unrecognizable to ourselves, so we actually miss ourselves?

    • Yes, you did go through that rough patch too. Ugh, the worst. And I really am unrecognizable to me and everyone I know. I’ve stopped calling my mom – she can’t stand the sound of my raspy voice anymore!

  9. I understand this. A lot. I’ve been sick for a long while now. Not a cold or anything, but still sick. Hopefully we both get “us” back soon!

    Nell

  10. I know if feels like it will never end…but you will feel better soon. I had a cold and then the stomach flu. But the only good thing about the kids growing up, is they can drive themselves to the market to pick up food for mommy. Just try and stay peaceful and know in no time you will be joyful again!

    • I know, I keep reminding myself that it will soon end and it will only look like a blip in the scheme of things. But right now, being immersed in it, really sucks! Thanks for coming by Terry!

  11. I made the call. Give it three days. If all is well the gods have answered my call. Expecting cupcakes by Monday. You know where to find me!

    🙂

  12. Hey!! Dang it! Sarah beat me to it!! I also made the call. I am pretty sure mine will get through before Sarah’s. (Ok. I may have paid the guy to put me through first. Is that so bad?)

    Anyway, I am so sorry for you. I miss you too. I am sending some virtual medicine. Tell me when it arrives.

    xxoo
    Amber

    • Hey, I’ll take both calls. I need all the help I can get. Things are slowly improving. I do know Hannah and I can’t stand the sight of each other anymore. Too many days in a row looking at each other blow our noses and cough up a lung. Thank for your call… I’ll let you know when the cupcakes are on their way.

  13. Every time I check my Google Reader or Twitter, I hope for the message from you that all is well. I am so sorry that so many bugs have attacked you at once and hope for a refreshing, cleansing breeze to blow your way soon!

    • Thanks Kristen and actually thing ARE getting better. I just don’t want to say it too soon for fear of jinxing us and something else landing on our doorstep. I will be writing a celebratory post when all is better for Sure!

  14. Becca, sometimes, the more you fight it, the hard it fights back. Give yourself over to the fact that it might be a few days before you give this ick the proverbial kick to the curb, and before you know it, you will be back to your former glory…As hard as it is for you and the kids (and heaven knows that it’s difficult for Daddy too!), you need to give yourself time…and the kids need to know that even Mommy can be down for the count too. If that doesn’t work, maybe you need to smoke out your house, witch doctor, a good airing out of the house once the weather warms up? LOL We’ve all been there…you’re bound to be on the mend soon!

    • My husband keeps telling me to give into it. but it’s so hard when it’s lasting so long! I just want to get back to normal but you’re right, I can’t fight it. It’s just got to run it’s course and we’ll all appreciate each other so much more when we’re all well. Right? I hope so at least! Thanks for coming by Maria!

  15. I hope you’re feeling better. If it’s any consolation, you have an award waiting for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

