Come Meet (who I wish were) My Neighbors


Community.  It’s really the reason I do this blog thing.  Yeah, I do it to keep track of the drama in my world, have a place for my awesome pictures, write tributes to my kids and my husband and have a creative outlet to fill up my spare time.  But honestly, the number one reason… for you.  The people who listen to my words.  Keep me going through days where I think I might drown.  The people who really HEAR me and make me realize I Am Not Alone.

So many of you I wish were my neighbors.  I wish I could walk out my front door and see my daughter’s future mother in law across the street.  How perfect it would be for me to look into the yard on my right and see the sisters who I think are living parallel lives to me and a woman who fascinates me with her life’s tales on my left.  It would be a dream come true to have a magnificent author, a beautiful writer/photographer, my web consultant, a knock me on my ass funny cook, an introspective, spiritual, amazing writer , and a fellow Charlotte look-alike (as well as fantastic, insightful writer), all close enough to have over to my house for a lady’s night.  These friends and the others who I wake up to and go to sleep reading about each and every day are the ones who MAKE this my community.

Amy at Never True Tales is hosting a fantastic event.  It’s called Won’t You Be My Neighbor.  It’s a way to “share” your community with your readers.  It’s a way for YOU to get to know MY favorites in this world by coming by and reading a post by them on my site.  Part of me is a LITTLE worried that you’ll love them so much more than me that you’ll say, “to hell with the Mama with all the Drama, I’m packing my bags and settling in elsewhere”.   But a bigger part of me thinks you’ll come back and thank me (and then maybe go elsewhere).  Nah.  I think it will be so much fun for you to get a glimpse of these fantabulous writers with amazing stories and their ways of telling them.  SOOO… each Friday, for at least a month, I’ll be hosting a guest blogger.  Someone from my favorites list.  Someone you may or may not know.  If you do know them, you’ll probably nod your head in agreement understanding why I asked them to guest post.  If you don’t know them, you’ll know quickly why I asked them!   And for my readers who really don’t get WHY I lose myself in this world every day… I assure you, you’ll understand after reading my guest’s posts.

So there it is.  My little announcement of the day.  I had hoped to write this and another post tonight but my attention has been on the Bachelor playing on the TV in front of me and that train wreck of a show has so captivated my attention that what I just wrote above took me over 90 minutes already.  So, I’ll be back to my normally scheduled writing tomorrow.

I hope you’ll join me in the neighborly fun!  If you do, grab the link on my sidebar and kick off your shoes as Mr. Rogers used to as he settled into his sweater and made himself at home.

And I should add… if you’d like to do a guest post, raise your hand!  Let me know!  And if you don’t volunteer… I’ll come asking!

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Come Meet (who I wish were) My Neighbors

  1. crnnoel

    I am so honored to be a part of your community 🙂

  2. Becca – Thank you so much for including me in your listing. I love coming here and hearing what you have to say. I wish I could walk out my door in the morning – preferably a summer morning as that would not require as much bundling up – and say hello every day.

    You have convinced me to join the program. I am off to post “won’t you be my neighbor” on my blog.

  3. Thank goodness for virtual neighbors. They are so amazing!

    And no worries, friend. I don’t think you’ll have any defectors when it’s my turn!

  4. What a great idea!

    How I wish my bloggyfriends could be my real neighbors.

  5. Am honored to be included, and absolutely feel the same way. Imagine if we could all get together! That would be great. BlogHer, anyone?

  6. Becca – Thank you. And, yes, it is all about community, about feeling surrounded and supported. About virtureal laughter (yes, getting some good mileage outta that faux word of mine.) I love that you are going to open our eyes to another member of your ideal neighborhood each week. I think this idea will catch on. I hope it does. Thanks again, neighbor!!

    • I’m just glad I don’t have to “clean up” before having these neighbors over. No cooking, no cleaning, no showering… my kind of get together!

  7. This is the sweetest coolest post. I love your way of sharing all this immense talent around us!

  8. Liz

    Hee hee…I saw a girl coming out of Publix tonight who looked so much like you in your pic that I did a doubletake, and then laughed, remembering this post. Wouldn’t it be the best Happy Hour ever…getting all of our bloggy friends together? You did a great job with this post…btw.

  9. Okay, sorry to be so late to this bloggy block party, but just wanted to say that I’m honored to be included here – especially in the company of so many amazing women.

    And, yes, we must discuss BlogHer. I don’t even really know what that is, but I start to feel giddy at the idea of meeting everyone in person!

    • Blogher is a big conference that happens every summer – this summer in NYC. I’ve talked to a few “friends” who are going to that OR I was thinking of picking another date this summer and organizing a get together so we can all meet. I have a few who say they’re in… would you be? I know it’s a trip for you! I’m thinking NYC…

Leave a Reply

